Friday, March 5, 2010

House of Representatives Steps Up for Transit!!!

An hour before cut-off the Washington House of Representatives stepped to up the plate for transit. Hours after the Community Transit Board approved 15% cuts, the House of Representatives voted 54-44 for an amendment to allow Pierce Transit and Community Transit the option to enact a temporary Vehicle License Fee in order to stave off service cuts. Under the Leadership of Rep. Marko Liias the House has made a step forward to allow two of the large agencies in the state another options besides devastating cuts.

The bill was voted off the floor 55-43 and now heads back to the Senate. STAY TUNED!

Here is the roll call vote on the save transit Liias amendment, it passed largely on a partisan with bolded members being the cross-over exceptions:

Yeas: 54 Nays: 44 Absent: 0 Excused: 0

Voting yea: Representatives Appleton, Blake, Carlyle, Chase, Clibborn, Cody, Conway, Darneille, Dickerson, Driscoll, Dunshee, Eddy, Ericks, Flannigan, Goodman, Haigh, Hasegawa, Hunt, Hunter, Jacks, Kagi, Kenney, Kessler, Kirby, Liias, Linville, Maxwell, McCoy, Miloscia, Moeller, Morris, Nelson, O'Brien, Ormsby, Orwall, Pedersen, Pettigrew, Quall, Roberts, Rolfes, Santos, Seaquist, Sells, Simpson, Springer, Sullivan, Takko, Upthegrove, Van De Wege, Wallace, White, Williams, Wood, and Mr. Speaker
Voting nay: Representatives Alexander, Anderson, Angel, Armstrong, Bailey, Campbell, Chandler, Condotta, Crouse, Dammeier, DeBolt, Ericksen, Fagan, Finn, Green, Haler, Herrera, Hinkle, Hope, Hudgins, Hurst, Johnson, Kelley, Klippert, Kretz, Kristiansen, McCune, Morrell, Nealey, Orcutt, Parker, Pearson, Priest, Probst, Roach, Rodne, Ross, Schmick, Shea, Short, Smith, Taylor, Walsh, and Warnick

No comments:

Post a Comment