Monday, October 5, 2009

Shake-up on Community Transit Board of Directors

Community Transit recently announced their newly appointed board members. Here is their press release:

Election fills vacancies until January 2010

Snohomish County, Wash. – Four new board members were elected to join the Community Transit Board of Directors Thursday. They were chosen in a special election by representatives of the Public Transportation Benefit Area member cities to fill out terms of board members who had resigned this past year.

Lynnwood City Councilmember Lisa Utter, Mill Creek City Councilmember Mike Todd, Mountlake Terrace Mayor Jerry Smith and Sultan City Councilmember Steve Slawson were chosen by their peers to serve through January 2010.

Other current board members are Chair and Brier City Councilmember Carlton Gipson, Vice Chair and Snohomish County Councilmember Dave Gossett, Marysville Mayor Dennis Kendall, Mukilteo Mayor Joe Marine and Snohomish County Councilmember Mike Cooper.

Slawson and Smith are new to the board; Todd and Utter were board alternates prior to being elected regular board members.

The new members will serve until a new Community Transit Board is chosen by the member cities in January 2010. Regular board elections take place in January of even-numbered years, following municipal elections.

Board members represent jurisdictions within the Community Transit service district. There are two representatives from large cities, with a population of more than 30,000; three from medium cities (population 10,000 to 30,000) and two from small cities (population less than 10,000). In addition, two members of the Snohomish County Council serve on the board.

In addition to electing new board members, two new alternates were chosen. Edmonds City Councilmember Steve Bernheim is a large cities alternate and Monroe City Councilmember John Stima is a medium cities alternate. Other board alternates are: for large cities, Lynnwood City Councilmember Ted Hikel; for medium cities, Lake Stevens City Councilmember Heather Coleman; and for small cities, Snohomish City Councilmember Doug Thorndike.

No comments:

Post a Comment